Our Stories

Youth participation: UNICEF meet the youth in the Grand’Anse

On April 8th and 9th, around 30 young adolescents and children from certain municipalities in the department of Grand'Anse, affected by cyclone Matthew, participated in a consultation session on risk and disaster management. The seminar was organized at the initiative of UNICEF with IDETTE and Methods without Borders as implementing partners.
April 19, 2017/by Jean Panel Fanfan
Cholera - Little patients regain strenghts at the CTA of Cap Haitien

The story of a cholera outbreak in Leogane

Phénide Ange Beaussejour, Emergency specialist at UNICEF Haiti tells us how a family in Gressier was contaminated by cholera. This story from the field illustrates the whole complexity of fighting cholera in Haiti.
April 13, 2017/by Phenide Beaussejour
Protection - Unicef- Raphael was two months old when he was found by the Sisters

Raphael, a little northeastern boy, thrives and grows

As soon as she goes on a mission to Ouanaminthe, in the Northeast, our colleague of the Child Protection section, Géraldine Alferis takes the opportunity to visit Raphael. Let her explain the story of the child
April 11, 2017/by Géraldine Alferis
Palmtrees destroyed by Matthew

On the south coast, little things to hang on?

Elisabeth Augustin, Communication Officer Focal Point Gender / Adolescents at UNICEF Haiti’s office just got back from a mission in the department of Grand 'Anse. Six months after Matthew's landfall, it is the first time that Elisabeth visits this area, particularly affected by the hurricane. She shares her feelings with us.
April 6, 2017/by Elisabeth Augustin
Une carte de risque élaboré par les élèves.

6 months after, Liam from Cuba talks about Hurricane Matthew

Liam Manuel, 11 years old tells us how he lived the landfall of Hurricane Matthew in Cuba.
April 5, 2017/by Liam Manuel Morega
15 novembre 2016, Abner Dorvil dans la station de traitement d'eau financée par l’UNICEF installée à Jérémie ©Maxence Bradley

“We know that people expect a lot from us.”

Six months after the devastating landfall of Hurricane Matthew in Haiti, Abner Dorvil, emergency officer, returns to the site. More than 2 million people were affected by the disaster, including 900,000 children. Abner was the first member of the UNICEF Haiti office to reach, not without difficulties, one of the most affected departments, Grand 'Anse and to put in place the first responses to help children and their families.
March 29, 2017/by Julie Harlet

This post is also available in: French

Nos Articles

Participation des Jeunes: L’UNICEF rencontre les enfants de la Grand’Anse

Les 8 et 9 avril, une trentaine de jeunes adolescents et enfants venus de certaines communes, dans le département de la Grand’Anse, touchées par le cyclone Matthew, ont participé à une séance de consultation sur la gestion des risques et désastres. Le séminaire était organisé à l’initiative de l’UNICEF avec pour partenaires de mise en œuvre, IDETTE et Méthodes sans frontières.
avril 19, 2017/par Jean Panel Fanfan
Cholera - Little patients regain strenghts at the CTA of Cap Haitien

Histoire d’une flambée de choléra à Léogane

Phénide Ange Beaussejour, spécialiste Urgences chez UNICEF Haïti nous raconte comment une famille à Gressier a été contaminée par le choléra. Par cet extrait brut venu du terrain, notre collègues Phénide illustre toute la complexité de la lutte contre le choléra en Haïti.
avril 13, 2017/par Phenide Beaussejour
Protection - Unicef- Raphael was two months old when he was found by the Sisters

Raphael, petit bonhomme du Nord-Est s’épanouit et grandit

Dès qu’elle part en mission à Ouanaminthe, dans le Nord-Est, notre collègue de la section Protection de l’Enfance, Géraldine Alferis en profite pour visiter Raphael. Elle vous explique aujourd’hui l’histoire de cet enfant.
avril 11, 2017/par Géraldine Alferis
Palmtrees destroyed by Matthew

Sur la côte sud, de petits rien pour s’accrocher ?

Elisabeth Augustin, Officier de Communication Point focal Genre / Adolescents au bureau de l’UNICEF en Haïti est de retour de mission dans le département de la Grand ’Anse. Six mois après le passage de Matthew sur l’ile, c’est la première fois qu’Elisabeth partait dans cette zone très affectée par l’ouragan. Elle partage avec nous son ressenti.
avril 6, 2017/par Elisabeth Augustin
Une carte de risque élaboré par les élèves.

L’ouragan Matthew vu par Liam 11 ans de Cuba

Récit de Liam Manuel, 11 ans, sur le passage de l’ouragan Matthew à Cuba.
avril 5, 2017/par Liam Manuel Morega
15 novembre 2016, Abner Dorvil dans la station de traitement d'eau financée par l’UNICEF installée à Jérémie ©Maxence Bradley

’’Nous savons que la population attend beaucoup de nous’’

Six mois après le passage dévastateur de l’ouragan Matthew en Haïti, Abner Dorvil, officier d’urgences revient sur les évènements. Plus de 2 millions de personnes ont été affectées dont 900 000 enfants par la catastrophe. Abner a été le premier membre du bureau d’UNICEF Haïti à atteindre, non sans difficultés, l’un des départements les plus affectés, la Grand’ Anse et à mettre en place les premières réponses pour aider les enfants et leur famille.
mars 29, 2017/par Julie Harlet

This post is also available in: Anglais