Entries by UNICEF Haiti

Celebration of the Convention on the Rights of the Child: Put the respect of children’s rights as a priority

  Port-au-Prince, November 20, 2017- On the anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child, celebrated this Monday around the world, UNICEF reiterates its wish to see every child in a family. Thus, UNICEF supports the Institute of Social Welfare and Research (IBESR) for the realization of the week of childhood. The national […]

UNICEF: Press release

  Port-au-Prince, 11 October 2017– UNICEF has learned with consternation the use of its name and logo for possible extortion. In fact, in the Arcahaie region and across the country, a false record is being circulated with names and addresses that are unrelated to UNICEF in one way or another. This sheet refers to the […]

One year after Hurricane Matthew, Haiti’s children still vulnerable to natural disasters

  PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 4 October 2017 – One year after Hurricane Matthew, a category 4 hurricane, devastated the Southwest of Haiti, causing loss of life and considerable damage, children and adolescents in the Caribbean country are still incredibly vulnerable to the effects of natural disasters and extreme weather events, UNICEF warned today. “Hundreds of thousands […]

UNICEF calls for the protection of all children with the imminent arrival of Hurricane Irma

In the last few hours, storm Irma has turned into a powerful Category 5 hurricane, the highest possible level in the Saffir-Simpson scale. The hurricane looks likely to be accompanied by strong winds and storms through its likely path through the Caribbean. If it continues in its current track it will bring devastating damage in the next few hours in the territories of Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, St Maarten, St Kitts and Nevis and the Virgin Islands. It is then expected to hit the Dominican Republic, Haiti and Cuba, directly affecting the lives of hundreds of thousands of children, adolescents and their families.

Antine’s Journey from DRC to Haiti

In 2014, Antine Legrand participated in the NETI 6th Cohort as an M&E Officer in Kinshasa. Upon graduating from the NETI Programme, Antine took on the role of Chief of Planning, M&E in Haiti where she continues to grow and learn about herself, UNICEF, and the great things the organization is able to accomplish even while under immense pressure.

Challenges remain 6 months after Matthew

Port-au-Prince, April 25, 2016 – Six months after Hurricane Matthew, a category 4 storm and the largest humanitarian crisis witnessed since the 2010 earthquake hit Haiti, the population of the most hit regions of the south – especially in Grand’Anse and South departments – still remain in need, in spite of a great mobilization of humanitarian actors on the ground since the first days.

Entrées par UNICEF Haiti

UNICEF: Note de presse

  Port-au-Prince, le 11 octobre 2017– L’UNICEF a appris avec consternation, l’utilisation de son nom et son logo à d’éventuelles fins d’extorsion de fonds. En effet, dans la région de l’Arcahaie et à travers tout le pays, circule une fausse fiche avec des noms et une adresse qui n’a aucun lien avec l’UNICEF, d’une manière […]

1 an après le passage de l’ouragan Matthew, les enfants d’Haïti sont encore vulnérables aux catastrophes naturelles

Port-au-Prince, le 4 Octobre 2017– Un an après le passage de l’ouragan Matthew de catégorie 4 qui a dévasté le grand Sud d’Haïti, et causé des pertes en vies humaines ainsi que des dégâts considérables, les enfants et adolescents de ce pays de la Caraïbes sont encore extrêmement vulnérables aux effets des désastres naturels et des […]

L’UNICEF appelle à la protection de tous les enfants avec l’arrivée imminente de l’ouragan Irma

Au cours des dernières heures, la tempête Irma est devenue un puissant ouragan de catégorie 5, le niveau le plus élevé possible sur l’échelle Saffir-Simpson. L’ouragan est accompagné par de forts vents et des orages pendant sa trajectoire probable à travers les Caraïbes. Si elle continue sur sa route actuelle, cela entraînera des dégâts dévastateurs dans les prochaines heures dans les territoires d’Antigua-et-Barbuda, de la Dominique, de St Maarten, de Saint-Kitts-et-Nevis et des îles Vierges. On s’attend à ce qu’il frappe la République dominicaine, Haïti et Cuba, affectant directement la vie de centaines de milliers d’enfants, d’adolescents et de leurs familles.

Antine Legrand raconte le parcours qui l’a menée de la RDC jusqu’en Haïti

En 2014, Antine Legrand a participé au sixième groupe de l’initiative de promotion des nouveaux talents (NETI) près obtention du diplôme délivré par ce programme, Antine a commencé à travailler comme responsable de la planification, du suivi et de l’évaluation en Haïti, où elle continue à développer ses compétences et à en apprendre toujours plus sur elle-même, sur l’UNICEF et le remarquable travail dont cette organisation est capable, même soumise à une forte pression.

Il reste encore des défis à relever 6 mois après l’ouragan Matthew

Six mois après le passage de l’ouragan Matthew, un cyclone de catégorie 4 qui représente la plus grave crise humanitaire depuis le tremblement de terre de 2010 en Haïti, la population, notamment dans la Grand’Anse et le Sud, a encore de grands besoins, en dépit d’une grande mobilisation des acteurs humanitaires sur le terrain, dès les premiers jours.